Facebook Twitter YouTube
Home Uncategorized 2012 NL Connie Mack Award Ballot

2012 NL Connie Mack Award Ballot

As a member of the Baseball Bloggers Alliance, I get to submit a ballot for all the season awards we give out. The first accomplishment we hand out goes to the league’s best manager in the Connie Mack Award. So here’s my ballot.

#1 Bruce Bochy
The Giants overcame a lot this year, and ended up running away with the NL West, finishing eight games ahead of the Dodgers. Brian Wilson, the team’s All-Star closer pitched all of two games before suffering a season-ending injury. Tim Lincecum had easily his worst season as a pro. Melky Cabrera was suspended on August 15th for 50 games. Somehow, with all of that, the Giants walked into the postseason.

#2 Davey Johnson
Johnson took over the Nationals midway through last year and finished this season with 18 more wins than the 2011 squad and won more games than any other NL team. Also, I feel like he dealt with the whole shutting down Strasburg thing pretty well by just going with it. I don’t think I could just go with that decision if my job is to win games in the present.

#3 Mike Matheny
Matheny took over for future Hall of Fame manager Tony La Russa this year and didn’t miss a beat. The Cardinals had their first season without Albert Pujols, lost Chris Carpenter for basically the entire year, and lost Lance Berkman for the year after about a month. But once again, the Cards made the postseason.

 Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Reddit Share on LinkedIn
No Comments  comments